Awesome Advice from Neil Gaiman

 

Mirrormask  Hello all! It’s been a while since I’ve posted links or reviews for writing resources – sorry about that. I’ll be getting back into that soon with a review of Bullies, Bastards, & Bitches: How to Write the Bad Guys in Fiction , by Jessica Page Morrell. I’m going through a transition with my day job, lol. Yeah, wish me luck with that one. 🙂

Anywho, I came across an awesome post on an equally awesome blog that I follow – isleofbooks. It’s a speech Neil Gaiman gave in front of the 2012 graduating class at a University. Very cool, and very inspiring. The things he said really hit home with me, and I hope it inspires you too. 🙂

  Here’s the link: Make Good Art

Neil Gaiman is kind of amazing, just saying. 🙂 He’s written a lot of great stuff, and it always gets my imagination going.

MirrormaskImage DetailImage Detail

Until next time, happy writing everyone! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Awesome Advice from Neil Gaiman

  1. A wonderful speech! Lots there I try to live by and lots I admittedly forget when things get busy or stressful. Thanks for the reminder.

    As it turns out, I was honored to be in an anthology with Neil Gaiman: http://www.amazon.com/2010-Rhysling-Anthology-Jaime-Moyer/dp/098196432X/

    One of those things that’s fun to remember. 🙂

    • paigeaddams says:

      I love this speech – I think my favorite parts are about the rules (because I break so many of them, lol) and continuing to walk towards the mountain (because there are so many things that lead me away from it, especially myself).

      And that is *SO* cool! I want to do that someday! I’d love to be in an anthology with some of my favorite authors. 🙂 Definitely a goal for me to work towards in the future.

  2. darkjade68 says:

    I just gave you My “Dedicated Follower Award” http://darkjade68.wordpress.com/2012/05/26/dedicated-follower-award/ Thank you so much for all your Continued Support, and Help with My Work Paige… It means the World to me

    DJ-

    • paigeaddams says:

      Thank you so much again for the award, DJ. 🙂 And you’re very welcome, anytime my friend. I hope it helps a little as you move towards finding your editor and self publishing. I’ll say prayers for you! 🙂

  3. I love Neil Gaiman. Just finished reading Stardust. 🙂

  4. Lorre says:

    I can’t wait to check it out when I get a chance.

Leave a Reply

