Blog Hop Challenge #2!

Anime Fight Girl Image  Hello all! Here is my second Blog Hop Challenge! 🙂 Lol, this was given to me a while ago – but I wasn’t able to finish it until today.

First off, I’d like to thank David Lee Summers for tagging me to participate in this blog hop. 🙂

Here are the rules:

1) Give credit to the one(s) who tagged you

2) Answer the following questions about your latest work in progress

3) Tag five other authors and let them know you tagged them

~~

Authors I’m tagging:

Lol, I’ve decided to just stick with one this time around. 🙂 I’m totally cheating because I just gave this one out a few weeks ago.

1) Yawatta Hosby

~~

For this second blog hop challenge, I decided to answer the questions for Book 2 of the trilogy I’m working on. Lol, it’s not complete yet – I’ve actually only written a few chapters.

1) What is the title of your book?

~ The Betrayed. I may end up changing it though. 🙂

2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

~ This ties in to question number nine. 🙂

I was trying to figure out ways to begin tying things together, starting from what I wanted to happen in The Blood Curse. Lol, I kind of plot things out in a vague, all over the place, kind of way. The idea started out with needing Ashriel to be captured, and figuring out who would want to and why.

I like to make lists of possible scenarios, and one of them stuck with me as a good mid-point for the trilogy. I wanted a Sijo (a prince, more or less) to be the hero, stripped of everything.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

~ Paranormal romance. My very favorite. 🙂

4) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

~ Lol, I totally get to cheat with this one too because a lot of the characters from The Blood Curse also show up in this book as secondary characters. 🙂

Not all of the secondary characters are set in stone yet though, so some are missing that were on the previous list. I’m still plotting it all out so I’m not entirely sure who’ll make an appearance yet. We shall see. 🙂

Once a shima reaches adulthood, because they are immortal, their bodies stop aging – so when you see Lansa and his son, they both look the same age. 🙂 There are only two exceptions to this. The first is when a shima gives up their immortality to age as a human. And the second is if they suffer from an illness called ‘hajithra’ – which happens if they take in too much of the darkness and abuse their powers.

Main Characters:

  Natalie Portman – Evie Jacobs

orlando-bloom-orlando-bloom-smile-sofa  Orlando Bloom – Banen Otharo, Sijo of Orilia

Uma Thurman  Uma Thurman – Enalel Mirela, Banen’s aunt

Secondary Characters:

Rachel McAdams  Rachel McAdams – Jillian Mitchell

  Jake Gyllenhaal – Ashriel Teleshani

Henry Cavill Wallpaper - Original size, download now.  Henry Cavill – Darenai Leseyra

Paul Walker  Paul Walker – Lansa Feruma, Jiru of Urujek

  Chris Hemsworth – Gajano Feruma, Sijo of Urujek, Telesil of Urujek, Lansa’s adopted son

Milla Jovovich  Milla Jovovich – Navin Wesuban, Ushara of Urujek

Jude Law  Jude Law – Odath Venaresh

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

~ Sijo Otharo, betrayed by someone he trusted, must fight to find proof of his innocense and reclaim his city from the growing threat that is slowly spreading across his realm.

Lol, because of my strange way of plotting, the story is probabaly going to go through some sort of big metamorphosis at some point, which will add a little more to that sentence I’m hoping. 🙂

6) Is your book self-published or represented by an agency?

~ I hope to have it represented by an agency eventually. 🙂

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

~ I’m still writing my first draft. So far, a year and counting. 🙂

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

~ This is extremely tough. I think I have to go with my answer from the last blog hop post – content wise, in the paranormal romance genre, maybe the Dark Series, by Christine Feehan? Or the Dark Hunter series, by Sherrilyn Kenyon?

9) Who or What inspired you to write this book?

~ This kind of ties in with question number two. 🙂

The hero from The Blood Curse, Ashriel, inspired me. As I was plotting out his journey through Book 1, and getting around to deciding I wanted to do a trilogy to introduce the world I was creating, I started thinking I wanted a really involved beginning that could effect other books later on down the road. So I started adding more main characters, and plotting for them in ways that connected them to other characters and stories.

Banen was one of those main characters, and I built his entire story as the midpoint in this trilogy.

10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

~ I think this is the same as with the last blog hop post as well. 🙂 I’m hoping the world I’ve built will draw readers in. I’ve had a lot of fun taking some of my favorite myths and legends and putting my own twist on them. I’m hoping readers will enjoy seeing old favorites, such as vampires, elementals, and djinn, from a slightly different perspective. 🙂

11) Where can readers purchase your book?

~ Coming soon! Hopefully! 🙂

Lol, for now I’m working on getting my blog shorts ready for self publishing soon, so I’m looking for a cover artist.

I’m also considering how to go about the self-publishing. I’m thinking I’d like to release two versions of my blog shorts? A free version, unchanged and taken from the blog. And a special edition, which would have love scenes and other extras. I’m still considering what extras I should include.

What do you think? What kind of extras would you be interested in seeing? Artwork? Guides? Standalones with characters from the novels? Language charts? Maps?

If you’d like to see some special standalones as extras, is there anyone in particular you want to know more about at this point?

Character options for standalones, from both the blog shorts you’ve read and from previews of the upcoming novels:

Gajano

Navin

Lansa

Triaris

Joa

The ‘being’

Kronen

Ashriel

Banen

Darenai

12) Where can readers find your website/blog’s?

~ You are here. 🙂 –> https://paigeaddams.wordpress.com/

~~~~~~~~~~

Until next time, Happy Writing and Take Care! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Blog Hop Challenge #2!

  1. Thanks for playing! I enjoyed learning more about the work in progress. As for extras for a paid version, I love the idea of artwork or standalones that give us more insight into the characters.

    • paigeaddams says:

      Lol, sorry it took me so long to get the post up. I’ve had trouble finding my balance lately, especially with time management. 🙂 This challenge was a lot of fun – thank you again for tagging me!

      And thank you for the feedback – I really appreciate it! 🙂 I’ve been really looking forward to getting some standalones and artwork out there. I’m going through ideas – I’m thinking I definitely want to include a map, and then get some character drawings in there too. I’m also thinking I’d like to do the standalones on the three heroes from the novels. I’m still trying to figure how far back in time I want to go before the beginning of the novels.

Leave a Reply

