Movie Review: Man of Steel

Rogue Powers a Curse  Hello all! And welcome to my review of Man of Steel! 😀

Man of steel movie poster  Starring: Henry Cavill (Clark Kent/Kal-El/Superman), Amy Adams (Lois Lane), Michael Shannon (General Zod), Antje Traue (Faora-Ul), Kevin Costner (Jonathan Kent), Diane Lane (Martha Kent), Laurence Fishburne (Perry White), Russell Crowe (Jor-El), Ayelet Zurer (Lara Lor-Van)

Plot (take from Yahoo!):

“A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not of this Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become the symbol of hope for all mankind.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Henry Cavill (Clark Kent/Kal-El/Superman) played an epic Superman. I’m not as familiar with this actor, but I think he really played the role well. He was a little broodier and more serious than the Superman I remember from the older movies.

Amy Adams (Lois Lane) played a cool Lois Lane. I wish I had seen some more of her though, even though I know she was supposed to be a secondary character. I hope that if they make more of these movies they develop her a little more, and give her some more screen time. Lol, I will also say that I was shocked at her aptitude for using alien weaponry. 🙂

Michael Shannon (General Zod) played a great villain. This guy has extremely strong convictions, which makes him an even scarier villain because he actually believes that what he’s doing is right.

Antje Traue (Faora-Ul) played such a badass villain! At times, she almost ~almost~ overshadowed General Zod for me. Like General Zod, she also has terrifyingly strong convictions combined with a big fat zero on the moral compass.

Kevin Costner (Jonathan Kent) played a different kind of Jonathan Kent than I’ve seen. There were several moments in the movie where I wasn’t sure I really liked him all that much. Kevin Costner did a great job, but I’m not sure I liked some of his character’s comments and decisions in this version.

Diane Lane (Martha Kent) – I usually love this actress in whatever she’s in, and this is no exception. 🙂 She played a strong Martha Kent.

Laurence Fishburne (Perry White) – played a cool secondary character, but I didn’t know too much about him by the end of the movie. Lol, this is another reason I need to go back and watch the older movies again. I don’t remember this character very much from before, but others have told me he’s a bigger character in the Superman canon.

Russell Crowe (Jor-El) played an awesome version of Superman’s biological father. I saw a different side of this character too, which was really cool. In this version I got to see the side of him that was an epic warrior, lol, which is probably where Superman gets some of his badassery. 😀

Ayelet Zurer (Lara Lor-Van) played Superman’s biological mother in a way I’ve never seen (but my memories of the older movies are admittedly fuzzy). She was only in the beginning of the movie, but in that short amount of time I gained a huge amount of respect for this character. It was very well done, and kind of made me a little teary-eyed. *ssshhhh* Don’t tell anyone.

Review:

Admittedly, I need to go back and watch the originals again. I haven’t seen them in years. Lol, man all these re-boots are very quickly filling up my ‘to watch’ list on the weekends. 🙂

But, with that being said, I really enjoyed this re-boot.

Not as much as I enjoyed Star Trek.

But really, only another Star Trek movie could compare to Star Trek. XD

But I digress.

Man-Of-Steel-Actors-Henry-Cavill-HD-Wallpaper-for-Desktop

This version of Superman was a little more serious than what I remember of the older ones, and darker in general.

This had to be pointed out to me – I didn’t really notice it myself, even though something felt off about a couple scenes – but they kind of messed with an old rule of Superman. To avoid spoilers, I won’t get any more specific, but I think it has to do a little with this slightly darker version of him.

Something interesting I did notice though, was that they referenced different parts of Superman history from movies and TV. You see the Smallville water tower, and at one point this Superman’s face looks very familiar. 🙂

Man-of-Steel-Faora2

Meet Faora – who stole nearly every scene she was in, in my opinion. 😀

She is just that badass.

True, General Zod is the main villain – but she’s the one who really made me nervous whenever she appeared. She was precise and slick in her fighting, cruel, powerful, completely ruthless, and downright scary in just how willing and enthusiastic she was when it came to killing people. And I don’t think I can remember her ever saying a line in this movie that didn’t give me creeptastic chills. Really well done.

Which brings me to the battle scenes. There’s good and bad here. I’ll start with the good. 🙂

Loved them. Without question, they were epic.

They were so fast and smoothly executed. Some will see this as a flaw – but the fight scenes, especially with Faora, were heavy with CG, and it had a very videogame kind of feel to it. Personally, I didn’t see this as a flaw at all though. For me, it was even more impressive, and really drew me in, because these villains didn’t move anything like a human would in a fight. It was fast, and brutal, and completely in your face.

Again, I was reminded of the villain in the second Hellboy, and the fights with John Harrison in Star Trek: Into Darkness. Smooth and precise, and really beautifully done.

Now for the bad, unfortunately.

These people where all over the place fighting Superman. Crashing through buildings, destroying everything they came into contact with during these fights, tearing up huge sections of asphalt every time they hit the ground. Explosions! Cars and other things flying everywhere! Humans huddling fearfully under whatever meager cover they could find, but usually to no avail!

My heart was pounding! I was at the edge of my seat! I was biting my nails! I couldn’t look away, and probably would have smacked someone if they tried to talk to me in that moment, because I was just that into it!

Until… Until I realized that there was probably NOTHING left of Smallville or Metropolis or some area on the other side of the world. I can’t think of even one building that was in the background when they were fighting that they didn’t demolish.

This was a problem I had with the Transformers movies as well sometimes.

Sooooo…. you’re protecting what’s left of humanity after your epic battles then?

All 5 of them…? O.o

This always draws me out of the action, at least for a couple minutes. If everything is destroyed in the battle, I don’t feel like the hero is trying to minimize casualties enough I guess?

I remember Superman leading villains away from highly populated areas in past movies, especially in the older ones. So I was pulled away from the action a few times when entire buildings, massive 50 story structures at least, came crashing down, sideways (and always in the direction of a conveniently long street packed with people in a straight line), like a tree falling on the city of Metropolis.

But, like I said, this only distracts me for a couple minutes and them I’m all: “Ooooo – shiny!” 😀 I do love epic battles, lol.

There is rarely any sort of logic you could throw at me that I won’t set aside for a really well done action scene.

Man of Steel 1024x768 Wallpaper # 5

My rating for Man of Steel: Epic – despite those few flaws I mentioned, and taking some liberties with a very big Superman rule, I really did enjoy this movie. 🙂 It’s a really well done re-boot, with great action, and a fast-paced story. Definitely go see it if you liked the older Superman movies, especially if you liked the other Superman re-boots, or if you like Superman in general and superhero stories in general.

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Man of Steel

  1. From someone who watched the old TV series of Superman, this movie seems a bit intense for me. I’m just a relic from the past!

    You might be interested in my recent post about Superman done on the 4th of July. It contains some trivia about the Man of Steel. 🙂

    • paigeaddams says:

      Lol, you’re not a relic, Lorna! 🙂 I totally agree with you – there was a lot going on in this movie that was darker than the original movies. I can’t speak for the comic, however. I’ve heard that got a little dark at times, but Superman’s ethics and code of honor in general never really changed. In this one, I felt like they challenged that a little. I definitely want to go back and watch the older movies again soon.

      Lol, and I loved your post about the patriotic Superman. And I totally have to agree with you there too. Nothin’s more patriotic than the Super Joe Man! 😀

Leave a Reply

