Movie Review: Red 2

"Red 2": Khi hài hước đánh bật logic! 4  Hello all, and welcome to my review of Red 2! 😀

File:RED 2 poster.jpg  Starring: Bruce Willis (Frank), Mary-Louise Parker (Sarah), John Malkovich (Marvin), Helen Mirren (Victoria), Catherine Zeta-Jones (Katja), Byung Hun Lee (Han Cho Bai), Anthony Hopkins (Bailey)

Plot (taken from Yahoo!)

“Retired black-ops CIA agent Frank Moses reunites his unlikely team of elite operatives for a global quest to track down a missing portable nuclear device. To succeed, they¹ll need to survive an army of relentless assassins, ruthless terrorists and power-crazed government officials, all eager to get their hands on the next-generation weapon. The mission takes Frank and his motley crew to Paris, London and Moscow. Outgunned and outmanned, they have only their cunning wits, their old-school skills, and each other to rely on as they try to save the world, and stay alive in the process.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Bruce Willis (Frank) plays an awesome lead. I think it’s the kind of role he does best – the fearless leader with the dry sense of humor. I love him in pretty much whatever he decides to be in, lol.

Mary-Louise Parker (Sarah) plays my second favorite type of heroine. The awkward, running amuck kind of heroine. 😀 She’s hilarious in this role, and I totally love her!

John Malkovich (Marvin) plays the funniest role in the movie, in my opinion. I like his brand of crazy quite a bit. He’s another actor that I love in almost everything he’s in, with only a few exceptions.

Helen Mirren (Victoria) is. So. Epic! I *love* this character! She’s a total badass, and so calm about everything.

Catherine Zeta-Jones (Katja) plays one of those characters you love to hate just a little bit. She’s seemingly perfect in every way, and the polar opposite of Sarah.

Byung Hun Lee (Han Cho Bai) – I *love* watching this actor fight! 😀 I really liked this character. He seemed a little more serious than the other characters, and it fit perfectly. I’m definitely going to look up some more of his movies.

Anthony Hopkins (Bailey) is, as always, completely epic. This is another actor whose movies I’ll watch just because he’s in them. Lol, I don’t want to give too much away about this character – but I will say that he plays this part really well. 😀

red-2 2013 movie wallpapers

Review:

I was so in love with the first Red movie – the story, the mix of action and comedy, and especially the quirky characters – it was all awesome. That movie has a place of honor on my movie shelf. So, going into this one I was really optimistic that I was going to either totally love this one or totally hate it if they went the Matrix 3 route and decided to have their pet garden slug write it.

*ahem*

Sorry. Random Matrix 3 references slip in from time to time whenever I think of major movie sequel… mistakes… to put it very, very politely.

Lol, from here on out you can safely assume that me saying “Matrix 3” is like me dropping the f-bomb.

Red 2 Helen Mirren

I think Victoria agrees. 🙂

I can’t tell you how relieved I was when it turned out not to be a big fat Matrix 3. 🙂

I enjoyed the fight scenes, especially with Han Cho Bai. I’ve decided he’s kind of epic.

I did like the story of the first Red better than the second, but it was still really good. And, just as important, it was as fun as the first movie. They kept the laid-back kind of humor that suited the characters so well.

RED 2 Movie Trailer Images Red 2 Trailer

Lol, and I did spend some time loving to hate Katja just a little. No offense intended to the awesome Catherine Zeta-Jones – I totally love her – but the character was just one of those perfect ladies, and I’m much more of a Sarah myself. ;D

From left, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Mary-Louise Parker and Bruce Willis in ‘RED 2’

Sarah had some of my favorite parts, lol. I love how excited she gets about anything spy related. She’s trying to find her place in Frank’s world, and Frank is trying to settle down into a more peaceful (less explodey) lifestyle and shelter her, and she’s not having any of that! XD

Red 2 (2013)

Lol, which does seem to get her into a little bit of trouble every now and then. 😉

Honestly, I think my favorite thing about this movie is still the characters. They’re all just as quirky as they were in the first movie, and I totally love them for it! 😀 I also like that each one is so different from the others, both personality wise and in the way they handle things – they’ve all got their own thing going, but they work together so well.

I think even if the story was complete crap (which it isn’t), I would still happily watch it just for the characters alone. 🙂

Red 2 (2013)

My rating for Red 2: Cash-Worthy – This was a great movie, and really well done for a sequel. For me, it was more character driven than plot, but I don’t think that’s such a bad thing. 🙂 Definitely check this one out if you liked the first Red, Mr. & Mrs. Smith, or funny spy movies in general.

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: Red 2

  1. disperser says:

    I will read this once I see the movie (waiting for the DVD release).

  2. DogG6 says:

    Holy muffins you are actually alive xD

    Anyways, I really liked the first RED, I haven’t seen the second so don’t wanna spoil anything, but I’ll favorite this suckah.

    • paigeaddams says:

      Lol – yeah, I kind of fell off the face of the earth for a while there. I’m hoping I can get back to doing some game reviews again soon – I’m having serious video game withdrawal. XD Every time I get close to getting things settled into a place that will give me more time, it seems like something explodes, lol.

Leave a Reply

