“All Work And No Play…”

  Hello all! Just wanted to give you guys another update on my status. 🙂

Hang on a sec. Let me just put my claymore down so we can talk… and then… we can…

**THUD**

…*zzzzz*….

sleeping dog, tea

*startled awake by phone alarm*

Oh!

Oh, sorry about that!

*hits ‘snooze’ on the alarm… just in case…*

Where was I?

Right, right – updates! 😀

So, as you guys know, I’m working two jobs right now – FedEx and my Licensed Massage Therapy business. I’m so excited to be going out on my own with the massage – and as if being my own boss weren’t reward enough by itself, I love being an LMT – right up there with being a writer. 😀 And I think (although I must admit to being highly biased) that I have the best clients in the universe.

And, even though it’s *really* tough work, I’m also enjoying FedEx. I’m bruised up from the boxes and bumping into the chutes (lol, I’m so gazelle-like), and I really need to invest in some gloves to avoid chapped hands and box cuts, but I’m starting to realize that I appreciate physical work more than I thought. Lol, my managers said I’m basically being paid to work out, which is a big plus because I have less than zero motivation to work out otherwise. XD

I’ve almost dropped an entire size, and am about to rock a pair of 16’s!

Cute Animal - Kitten in Jeans Wallpaper HD 1

Woot!

But, on the other hand, because of how busy I’ve been, my days have been really broken up. Lol, I’ve even taken to carrying little baggies of food with me because I’m rarely home long enough for an actual meal. I’m going to bed early, getting up at 2:30am and working 4am-8am at FedEx, sleeping some more, then working on the business, then I have time for dinner and more sleep before I *yawn* start over… and then… I try to…

**THUMP**

*snoooooore…*

sleeping-cat

*my lovely, life-saving alarm – the only thing keeping me conscious for extended periods of time*

*Lifts forehead off keyboard and resets the alarm*

*Ahem*

What was I saying? Oh yeah – FedEx!

So, I’m working there for the time being until my business picks up a bit more. Ideally, I need at least 40 appointments a month – and I’m slowly working my way in that direction. 😀 I’m really excited about the progress I’ve made just in the past couple months.

In the meantime, however, FedEx is *KILLING* my writing time. I’m sorry for my blog neglect over the past couple months. This transition has been tough. I’ve got the ideas piling up, and I’m filling up my little purse notebooks with thoughts at random places like extra long stop lights or the gas station, lol.

It’s been driving me a little crazy. In my mind my characters are shaking their heads and pacing impatiently. A couple are even scowling rather menacingly. They shoot meaningful glances at those tempting notebooks all the time, and then just cross their arms and stare at me with raised eyebrows.

……

…And I miss writing so much that now I’m about to launch into a story about the story people in my story-filled head getting antsy about me getting back to writing my stories…

Yeah…

*shakes head alongside the story people*

And then a manager at FedEx asked me if I’d like to go full-time and work the midnight shift as well as the sunrise.

On the outside I was all:

See adjacent text.  “Thank you for the offer.”

On the inside, however, I was like:

  “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!” (echo – pan out, echo – pan out, echo – pan out, an asteroid whizzes by somewhere in the far reaches of space)

Lol. No. Just no. While I do honestly appreciate the offer… “No, thank you most kindly.” <–(Lol, name that movie quote! 😉 )

As I work towards the goal of just working my business and my writing, my main writing projects are still my Dark Crystal submission and the end of Ascension. Lol, I’m so close on both of them. SO. CLOSE.

*Mayun shakes her head somewhere in the background.*

I’ve decided that in order to accomplish all of this and still sleep I’m actually going to use my schedule book (another life-saver alongside the phone alarm) to block writing time into my day. Even if it’s just an hour. I’m going to make this happen, lol.

I’m hoping – please, God – to have some new content for you guys. I have several half-done movie reviews just waiting to be finished.

*Toren clears his throat, not very discreetly*

And Ascension! More Ascension is coming as well! O.O”

*Toren doesn’t seem convinced.*

So much Ascension! Multitudes of Ascension! … I’ll just… go over there now. (>O.O)> And, uh, grab one of those notebooks… and…

*Toren pulls up a chair next to my writing desk and… waits with narrowed eyes…*

Sooooo…. *very quickly blocking an hour in my phone* I think it’s time to write. ^.^”

I’ll keep you guys posted on any new developments. Wish me luck! In the meantime, there shall be more for you to read this week!

Until next time, Take Care and Happy Writing! 😀

~~~~~~~~~~

Artwork Credits:

Lol, once again, I have no idea where I got the artwork I used for the greeting at the top of this post. But if anyone knows, leave a comment and I’ll add the artist’s name and a link to them. 🙂

Next is “Mona Lisa” by Leonardo da Vinci.

And “The Scream” by Edvard Munch.

~~~~~~~~~~

2 thoughts on ““All Work And No Play…”

  1. disperser says:

    Seems like everyone is running out of writing time.

    . . . life! . . . what for you no be easy?

    • paigeaddams says:

      Lol, someday my friend! Someday that easy button of life will magically appear on my desk! I think it just keeps getting shipped to the wrong address or something. XD

      Lol, when all’s said and done, even without my beloved easy button, it’ll all pay off. I feel like the harder I work for something, the more satisfying it is when I finally reach my goal. 😀

Leave a Reply

