Movie Review: About Time

Hourglass Fairy by Heidi-V-Art  Hello all! Welcome to my review of About Time! 😀

About Time, Movie Poster  Starring: Domhnall Gleeson (Tim), Rachel McAdams (Mary), Bill Nighy (Dad), Lindsay Duncan (Mum), Tom Hollander (Harry), Lydia Wilson (Kit Kat)

Plot (taken from IMDb):

“At the age of 21, Tim discovers he can travel in time and change what happens and has happened in his own life. His decision to make his world a better place by getting a girlfriend turns out not to be as easy as you might think.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Domhnall Gleeson (Tim) played a really relatable hero. He was goofy and a little awkward at times, and I loved his sense of humor throughout the movie. And he was just as relatable when the movie had its more serious moments too. I had no idea how many movies this actor had been in that I’ve seen – mostly playing secondary roles – but I’m thinking I’m going to have to pay closer attention now, and look for more movies he’s in. 🙂

Rachel McAdams (Mary) is, as always, awesome. Her character is down to earth and silly. And I also really like that she isn’t a perfect heroine. She has little quirks that make her relatable too, in my opinion.

Bill Nighy (Dad) is also, as always, completely awesome. I love this actor. And I love the character he plays in this movie. He’s so mellow about everything, and he has this warm, kind of wry, sense of humor. And the way he interacts with his family is really touching to me.

Lindsay Duncan (Mum) plays one tough cookie. I love this character because she’s so strong and unafraid to be herself, regardless of what anybody thinks about that. 🙂

Tom Hollander (Harry) plays some great comic relief. He’s so pessimistic and sarcastic about everything – which is a nice contrast from the other, more light-hearted, characters in this movie. He’s got that slightly darker sense of humor and outlook that balances everything out for me.

Lydia Wilson (Kit Kat) plays another character I’m kind of in love with. This actress did a wonderful job of making me sympathetic towards her character. There are parts of this movie where her scenes, both happy and sad, really got to me.

about-time-domnhall-gleeson-lydia-wilson-600x400

Review:

I don’t think I’ve reviewed any romantic comedies yet, have I? Lol, I’m kind of surprised at myself since this is probably my favorite genre next to superhero/explodey type movies. 🙂

That’s right folks. I said it. I love romantic comedies, despite their sad lack of explosions, epic battles, and general destruction.

And if I manage to find a movie that has both romance and superhero/explodey type things – that’s my favorite! I think that’s why I write the type of stories I do. It’s what I love to read and watch most. 🙂

I have to admit, however, that I was just a little bit nervous going into this one. The trailer reminded me quite a bit of The Time Traveler’s Wife, and I was so afraid I’d be needing some chocolate cake again. Not that The Time Traveler’s Wife was bad movie – it was just one of those that made me cry at the end.

*sigh*

And I did totally cry during this movie too.

*double sigh*

I won’t give it away, but this one has some really touching and emotional moments mixed in with the sugary awesomeness that just naturally goes with these kind of movies.

So grab some popcorn, and perhaps some tissues, and prepare thyself for cuteness overload.

About Time kiss

D’awww!

Guys may not even mind this one, despite its very blatant “chick flick” status. I think it has enough humor to balance out the sugar. 🙂 Lol, my husband even admitted to liking this one.

about-time-domnhall-gleeson-tom-hollander-600x400

No, really! I promise! I’m not just saying that! ;D

Another thing I really enjoyed about this one was the way the time travel aspect was handled. Tim’s reasons for going back were sometimes hilarious, often sweet, and there were a few times where it was obviously very painful for his character because he had seen the outcomes of making different decisions.

Whatever he decided – and he was forced to make some very tough choices between potentially horrible circumstances, either way he went – it always had an interesting effect on the present he returned to. Sometimes the changes were smaller, but in other cases they were huge.

I also found the limitations placed on Tim’s time travel to be really interesting. For the most part, he could go back to any moment he chose, as many times as he liked, until he got the outcome he wanted. There was one very big catch, however, that he had to learn to live with.

About Time Domhnall Gleeson Bill Nighy

And here’s something that I think a lot of movies tend to miss out on – the connection between the secondary characters as well as the primary. Most of the focus is usually on the main couple, and the secondary characters kind of end up fading into the background. That’s not necessarily a bad thing – in a romance especially, the main focus should always be the couple.

But in this one, having that subtle bit of extra emphasis on the family added to the whole picture, and gave more emotional weight to the consequences of Tim’s decisions when he travels in time. I also really like that Tim and Kit Kat have all these little quirks that remind me of their parents.

This all came together to draw me in, and make me care about everybody more. 🙂

about-time-movie-image-600x400

My rating for About Time: Epic – This is a really beautiful movie, and I’m completely in love with it. I’m buying it when it comes out, no question. Go see this one, especially if you enjoy movies like The Time Traveler’s Wife or Bedazzled, or like time travel or romantic comedies in general. 😀

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~

Artwork Credits:

The first image in my greeting is “Hourglass Fairy” by Heidi-V-Art on DeviantArt.

~~~~~~~~~~

6 thoughts on “Movie Review: About Time

  1. disperser says:

    We don’t often go to movies, but will likely rent . . . I’m a sucker for good romantic movies.

    Which reminds me . . . we’re nearing christmas and our annual watching of Love Actually.

    • paigeaddams says:

      Yeah, this one’s definitely worth a rent! 😀 And I *love* Love Actually! That’s one of my favorites – I usually watch it, along with Scrooged and The Ref, every Christmas. XD

  2. Totally agree. I loved this movie when I went to see it! Great review 🙂

  3. Doc says:

    I love your term “explodey type movies”. Sounds like a good movie, might watch with me wife when I get back.

Leave a Reply

