Wait, what day is it?!

  Hello all! It’s been a ridiculously long time since I was able to get on here and post anything, and I’ve really, *REALLY* missed it!

I’ve made it back! Lol, finally! I had some things that needed to be taken care of on the home front, but now I’m ready to dive back into writing. 😀

It’s a strange thing – when I’m not writing, I’m just not happy. The ideas just roll around in my head, and I can almost *feel* my characters glaring at me from the back of my mind, demanding attention.

Image result

First, I have an update for you on the self-publishing that I mentioned *cough, cough* last year *cough*.

I found an editor, so I can finally finish polishing up my first book! Yay! 😀

I have the cover, and the map, and the extra standalone chapters, and now someone to stop me from over-editing by myself, and gutting the whole thing in a mad fit of second-guessing.

I found the amazing Debra L. Hartmann ~ check her out! 😀

https://theprobookeditor.com/

We’re starting around January-ish, and she’s been so wonderful and helpful in getting me all prepared. She also taught me about Track Changes. Lol, I had no idea this was a thing, and it’s amazing, and I’m going to use it all the time now. XD

Also, I’m going to be keeping a writing schedule for myself, and to hold myself accountable to this schedule, I have brainstormed some serious consequences, should I fail to post in a timely fashion:

  • I will force myself to watch Matrix 3 again… I may have to get some industrial cleaner to get all the dust off it first though.
  • No icecream for a week.
  • I will refrain from using emoticons for a week. O.O”

See? I mean business here.

Matrix 3 is no laughing matter.

And neither is this:

I love you, icecream. You complete me.

Here’s what I’m planning:

  • Mondays ~ something random. Probably movie reviews, or any extras I’d like to share.
  • Fridays ~ something story related. A chapter, worldbuilding, or any interesting writing resources I find.

Lol, because I haven’t posted in like a bajillion years, today will be a little different. I’m posting a chapter! 😀 I’m going to post the end of Ascension tonight, FINALLY, and Friday will be a movie review.

 

In case you need a refresher, because there has been a slight… um… lapse in time since the last chapter…

Previously, in Ascension: Mayun and Toren found the Heshiga, and fought to free him. If they hadn’t been helped by a mystery woman, who momentarily broke free of the enemy’s control, they probably wouldn’t have been able to get close. After returning to Mayun’s city, Kretore, they finally had a chance to talk and clear up any misunderstandings between them, and Mayun claimed Toren as her prasuri.

Now, to wrap it up! 😀

Until next time, Happy Writing! 😀

8 thoughts on “Wait, what day is it?!

  1. disperser says:

    Welcome back. Looking forward to your posts.

    • paigeaddams says:

      Thank you, my friend! 😀 I’m so glad to be back! I can’t wait to catch up on your posts too. What are you working on now?

    • disperser says:

      Catching up would greatly diminish the chances of you holding to your resolve to write. There’s just too much content.

      As for general stuff, let me try and condense what’s changed since last April . . .

      Major general life stuff:
      sold house in April of this year, closed in June. From the middle of May to closing, we concentrated on selling all of our possessions. In June, we moved to Hawai’i. Us two, and about 30 boxes we mailed. We’re currently renting a place as we look for a house we can both afford and like.

      Major writing related stuff:
      Was accepted and attended Viable Paradise XIX. Wrote a number of short stories (four of which I’m shopping around), wrote a number of posts on writing, wrote a novel for NaNoWriMo 2015 which I’m editing and plan to shop around as I shop around the NaNoWriMo from 2014.
      The move here put a damper on my writing, and I’m just now getting back into it. The account of Berto — my muse — and his journey to reunite with me can be found here:
      https://dispersertracks.com/2016/07/13/now-where-did-that-danged-muse-go/

      • paigeaddams says:

        Lol, you’re right, I have to stick to my guns – I really, *REALLY* don’t want to have to punish myself with Matrix 3 or icecream deprivation. XD I did miss your stories and beautiful photos though!

        Congrats on selling the house, and good luck as you guys search for a new one! Hawai’i is gorgeous! I’ve never been there, but I’ve seen so many pictures, and watched travel shows on it – that’s definitely on my list to see someday. 😀

        And Viable Paradise sounds awesome! 😀 I’ve always wanted to go to a workshop – lol, also on my list of things I want to do before I die. XD

        And poor Berto! He’s tough though – I bet he can take those unicorns! I love the B&W flowers in that post, by the way. It’s such a pretty shot! It sounds like you’ve done a lot with your writing, looking for publishers and agents – good luck! 😀 It’s always both fun and nerve-wracking doing that.

        I got rejected by another editor, before finding the one I’ll be working with in January. That always stings – like really? Really?! I even scare editors away now?! I’m doomed. It’s a good thing I still have my day job(s), lol. XD

        My poor editor has her work cut out for her. I know it’s going to be a painful process, but I’m really looking forward to it! 😀

      • disperser says:

        The workshop was a positive experience, but much of what I heard I knew already. It was useful getting feedback and some one-on-one with the instructors regarding my submission (part of my 2015 NaNoWriMo novel).

        In that regard, you should get that and more working with your editor. The other thing that is good about the workshop is that you meet other writers. Forming connections, if you will.

        That said, other than superficial socializing, I failed to establish close relationships with anyone (part of my nature — I tend to be better with individuals rather than groups, and the nature of the workshop was such that groups (cliques) formed rather quickly. I could have joined some, but like I said, not my thing.

        We did have one writing assignment. I screwed that up too, as I found out we were supposed submit that story at the end of the workshop. I posted it on my blog:
        https://dispersertracks.com/2015/10/21/i-be-alive-and-well/

        thus using up the first publications rights. That means I can’t really submit it anywhere as most places want stories that have not been previously published (posting on one’s blog counts for publication).

      • paigeaddams says:

        Yeah, I totally understand – I’m very introverted (more so in person, lol), and I don’t do as well in a crowd as I do with an individual. It’s the same with my massage clients – I’m completely comfortable and talkative with them. But I think I get a little quieter with each person you add to the equation, lol. I would still love to make more connections though, and get to know more writers. 😀 I hope I can go to a workshop in the future!

  2. Welcome back! No emoticons!! Holy crap! 😮 And no ice cream!?!? And… wow. You DO mean business!

    Have you also considered looking for beta readers? A lot of authors will swap betas (I know I do it a lot). I always figure the more eyes on it, the better.

    • paigeaddams says:

      Thank you, Joleene! 😀 I’m so happy to be back! Lol, and it’s true – I will pack away the ice cream and emoticons if I have to! Drastic times call for drastic measures! XD

      I have swapped betas a few times, and it has really helped a ton! 😀 I’m so thankful for the feedback I’ve gotten so far. I feel like my writing has really improved a lot, thanks to the people I’ve swapped with. I think the main reason I’m going the editor route now, is because I haven’t really found anyone who writes romance who wanted to swap. I’m worried the fantasy part of my story is overwhelming my romance, lol. And agreed! The more eyes, the better! I really do become blind to massive, glaring problems after staring at my own work for so long, lol.

Leave a Reply

