Movie Review: Kubo and the Two Strings

  Hello all, and welcome to my review of Kubo and the Two Strings! 😀

(Heh… Not today Matrix 3… Not today.)

“If you must blink, do it now…”

Kubo and the Two Strings poster.png  Starring: Art Parkinson (Kubo), Charlize Theron (Monkey), Matthew McConaughey (Beetle), Rooney Mara (The Sisters), Ralph Fiennes (The Moon King), George Takei (Hosato), Brenda Vaccaro (Kameyo)

Plot (taken from IMDb):

“A young boy named Kubo must locate a magical suit of armor worn by his late father in order to defeat a vengeful spirit from the past.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Art Parkinson (Kubo) – I love this Kubo! One of my favorite heroes to come along in a kids movie in a while. He’s one tough kid, and he’s determined (to the point of being stubborn), and way more forgiving than me, lol. I need to learn how to tell stories the way he does. 😀

Charlize Theron (Monkey) – I love this monkey! She’s always watching over Kubo, protecting him, and truly cares about him. Lol, she’s also a tough and scary monkey, when she wants to be. XD

Matthew McConaughey (Beetle) – I love this beetle! (never thought I would say that… ever) This would be me as a beetle. “Do I have eyelids?” Yep. Me. He’s kind of goofy, but well-meaning, and is fun comic relief.

Rooney Mara (The Sisters) – I love this Rooney Mara in general! Just saying. She’s really creepy as The Sisters. Something about the way her voice echoes when they’re both talking at once just gives me the chills. They’re scary because they really don’t see anything wrong with what they’re doing.

Ralph Fiennes (The Moon King) – another “scary because he’s so sure he’s right” kind of villain. He’s the main bad guy, behind the scenes, that you don’t see until the end of the movie. You hear enough about him, however, to want to stab him, despite this being a kids movie.

George Takei (Hosato) – a sweet and grandfatherly character, who is always kind to Kubo. Also, George Takei is awesome anyway. 😀

Brenda Vaccaro (Kameyo) – an adorable older lady who is close to Kubo, and always looks forward to his stories.

kubo and the two strings, laika, trailer

Review:

I generally tend to like kids movies, like Disney, Pixar, and Studio Ghibli, and this one was really good. I was really impressed with both the stop-motion animation and the story.

This movie, as a whole, was beautiful, and had a deeper theme about life and death than I was expecting. The characters themselves, and the heart in the story, really made this one a winner.

kubo-and-the-two-strings-art-design-5

Kubo’s interactions with his mother at the beginning of the movie were so touching. And the relationships he formed with Monkey and Beetle along the way were sometimes hilarious, sometimes a little bittersweet.

The mix of action, adventure, and magic was awesome too! 😀

You know I’m a sucker for magic especially, and Kubo did not disappoint. I really liked the way they handled it, and made it part of the world.

And also, I want a magical guitar now. ❤

In certain parts, this movie was also a little darker than I was expecting, however. There were a couple moments that might be a little scary for younger kids. It felt like it might be appreciated more by older kids and adults, but I think it’s a fun one for anybody over all.

kubo and the two strings, laika, trailer

Part of what makes the villains so creepy is their cold dismissal of humanity. They don’t see the value, or the point, and they’re willing to go to some really extreme lengths to capture Kubo.

I think that may be why my only complaint is that the ending felt a little too easy. Maybe this isn’t entirely fair, since it’s a kids movie, but I feel like the Moon King got off waaaaay too easy in the end.

This is probably my burning desire for retribution rearing its ugly head again, despite the fact that this is a kids movie. It’s really the only thing I can find to pick on though, lol. As a whole, this really is a great movie. 😀

kubo and the two strings, laika, trailer

My rating for Kubo and the Two Strings: Epic – This is one of my new favorite movies, and I’ll absolutely be buying it when it comes out. One of it’s main strengths is that this is one that both adults and kids can enjoy together. There’s a good balance between the action, comedy, and the more serious parts. Definitely check it out if you enjoy movies like Coraline or ParaNorman, or stop-motion animation in general, mixed with fantasy and heart. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~

Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

8 thoughts on “Movie Review: Kubo and the Two Strings

  1. disperser says:

    Didn’t even know this was a movie. It wasn’t until I searched that realized it’s in theaters now (gives you an idea how often and with what interest I follow the mainstream entertainment).

    Probably won’t go and see it, but will try to eventually catch it once it’s streaming (if ever).

    • paigeaddams says:

      Me too! It was just luck that I stumbled across the trailer, lol. I wish they’d advertised this one more, because it’s a really good one. Lol, I actually teared up at the end – admittedly, I’m a big baby though. XD Let me know what you think if you do see it. 😀

  2. disperser says:

    By the way, we went to watch this on the last day it was at the local theater . . . There were only two other people in the theater.

    I liked the animation and some of the banter, but was not impressed with the plot. I did not think it held together all that well, especially at the end. I’m not even sure what happened; he basically robbed his grandfather of the life he had chosen. True, he wanted his other eye, but why not strike a bargain with him? “You leave me alone and you get to live forever like you wanted, otherwise I will turn you into a mortal fool with dementia.”

    Like I said, I liked the mastery and visuals. Also, two hours of air conditioned comfort. Oh, yeah.

    • paigeaddams says:

      Yeah, the ending was my only real issue. Lol, I’m a sucker for animation, but I also have that burning desire for retribution. XD I felt like there was a big buildup, and then *poof!* We take his memory, and it’s all good!

      Kubo might have been able to try and bargain with him, but I don’t know if the Moon King would’ve really gone along with it. He seemed very focused on Kubo’s remaining eye. Live and let live might have worked, but then the Moon King might’ve just gone on to hurt others besides Kubo, since he didn’t see any value in humanity anyway. I’d just take the Moon King out, like the Sisters. Lol, again, I’m afraid my need for fiery vengeance is showing. XD

      Lol, and I don’t blame you on the air conditioning. XD It’s a beautiful thing. Lol, I barely venture out when it gets super hot and muggy.

    • disperser says:

      Yeah, retribution is big in my book as well. I’ve never known rehabilitation to work. Tere are, I’m sure, some examples where it does work, one of them, surprisingly, the whole country of Japan, but overall, once on the dark side, even if one repents, there’s still that whole “you’ve killed a lot of good people” issue.

      Best do a cleansing, I say.

      • paigeaddams says:

        Oooo, repenting is a whole other thing. That’s where it gets into a gray area in my desire for destruction of evil-doers. Moon King didn’t repent, he just didn’t remember that he wanted to murder everybody, lol. Some bad guys are redeemable, if they really regret what they did, and try to make good. A couple of the characters from Suicide Squad, shockingly, I felt like really weren’t such horrendous bad guys, and didn’t deserve the ax of retribution. XD Lol, the characters I want to take out are the ones who would enjoy traveling the world, sprinkling death around like murder confetti. Lol, like the cult from The Following or something. XD Them, I’d say just take ’em all out! *mwa-ha-ha-ha* (Here’s where my inner villain comes out.)

      • disperser says:

        I don’t know . . . I guess I can consider things in a case by case basis, but it pissed me off when at the end Darth Vader is sitting . . . er . . . standing all ghostly like next to Obe Wan in what I presume passes for Force Heaven. He wiped out whole civilizations and saves one whiny kid and he’s “saved”? Screw that! I say have him do his repentance listening to Ewok singing for eternity.

      • paigeaddams says:

        Lmao! Agreed! XD Ewok singing forever, and ever, and ever. Take that, Darth Vader! Yeah, after that kind of killing spree, forget it. That is one character where I see no hope for redemption.

Leave a Reply

