Movie Review: Suicide Squad

  Hello all, and welcome to my review of Suicide Squad! 😀

This one is a strange mix of being right up my alley, while at the same time being the exact opposite of what I would normally watch, lol.

I think that may be part of what makes it so fun though. 🙂

  Starring: Will Smith (Deadshot), Margot Robbie (Harley Quinn), Jared Leto (Joker), Joel Kinnaman (Rick Flag), Cara Delevingne (Enchantress), Jai Courtney (Boomerang), Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (Killer Croc), Daiblo (Jay Hernandez), Karen Fukuhara (Katana), Adam Beach (Slipknot), Viola Davis (Amanda Waller)

Plot (taken from IMDb):

“A secret government agency recruits some of the most dangerous incarcerated criminals to form a defensive task force, with their first case leading to a potential apocalypse.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Will Smith (Deadshot) – I really loved this character. I got some of his backstory, but I know there’s more. I loved the relationship he had with his daughter, and the way he interacted with the other characters. He seemed the most sane out of everyone, aside from Rick Flag.

Margot Robbie (Harley Quinn) – Lol, my kind of crazy. I had a feeling I’d love this character, and I totally did. She’s dangerous and tough, and says and does whatever she feels like. She is also completely batshit insane, but it works somehow, lol. XD

Jared Leto (Joker) – Awesome Joker! Jared Leto had a different take on the character, but I loved it. I really, really want to see more of him in another Suicide Squad movie.

Joel Kinnaman (Rick Flag) – I liked this guy. He was always trying to do what was right. I also liked how they way he looked at the Squad changed as the movie went on.

Cara Delevingne (Enchantress) – She was a really interesting character. Her nature was complicated, switching between Enchantress and her host, June, especially because they had different goals from one another.

Jai Courtney (Boomerang) – I wasn’t a huge Boomerang fan. I didn’t learn much about him in this movie, but his character irked me for some reason, lol.

Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (Killer Croc) – I don’t know much about this character, but he made me laugh with some of his lines.

Daiblo (Jay Hernandez) – I felt bad for this guy. He really turned himself around, but what he had to go through to get there is unimaginable.

Karen Fukuhara (Katana) – I wanted to see so much more of this character. If they do another Suicide Squad movie, I really hope they’ll get into her character more. Like with Deadshot, I got a little glimpse of her story, but I wish there had been more.

Adam Beach (Slipknot) – I don’t know much of anything about this character either, unfortunately.

Viola Davis (Amanda Waller) – This actress is awesome. Lol, I love to hate this character. I think the Squad feels the same throughout the movie. She’s manipulative and cold, and very intimidating.

Movie - Suicide Squad  Wallpaper

Review:

Honestly, I was sure I probably wouldn’t like this one. I held out some hope, because I normally love all things superhero related, but my expectations weren’t too high.

My issue is that I don’t normally go for stories where the main characters are the villains. That’s why I couldn’t get into Dexter or Breaking Bad.

The only exception to my general dislike of villain-centered stories would be sympathetic villains. Those characters mess me up big time – I’m looking at you, Jaime Lannister. O.o

I’m cool with it if  you have a bad guy who becomes good. I’m not into it when it goes the other way.

So, do all the villains in Suicide Squad suddenly become good, and there are happy-brand fireworks exploding all around, raining butterflies and flowers and rainbows?

Did I like it anyway?

Lol, I couldn’t not like it. ❤

The movie didn’t take itself too seriously. There were serious moments, to be sure, especially when you get into the backstory of some of the characters, and then also towards the end. The rest was just… fun. 😀

I was expecting all this chaos, and a really dark story line. I was thinking I’d totally hate most of the Squad, because you know – bad guys and all that. I was pleasantly surprised though. There was plenty of fighting and explosions to go around, which is always a plus. But there was also a surprising amount of comedy too though.

One problem I had, however, was how I only got to see bits of each character. I know there were a lot of characters to go through, and they couldn’t slow down the plot to showcase each one, but it left me feeling like it was just Harley Quinn, Deadshot, Rick Flag, Enchantress, and Amanda Waller as main characters. Everybody else was just kind of tagging along.

This is why all I had to say about some of the characters above was, “I dunn0 – they seemed cool.” *shrugs*

I think there was just too much going on there to fit into one movie. Lol, this is one of those rare occurrences where I actually want a sequel to happen. XD

Speaking of not enough screen time…

The lack of Joker in this movie was also appalling, since I was really looking forward to him, lol. Maybe they didn’t want him to overshadow the Squad, so they didn’t give him much screen time? Maybe everybody is familiar with Joker already, and they wanted to introduce everybody else this time around?

Either way, I want more Joker next time, please?

Most of what I saw of him pertained to his relationship with Harley Quinn.

The whole thing was really, really strange. You know I’m all about the romance, but I don’t normally get into the really twisty sort. I was surprised by how they fit together in this weird, kinda off way though.

Lol, I guess that’s because they’re both bonkers. It worked somehow, even though they were kind of obsessed with each other in a dangerous way, and I was strangely happy when they were together, with their individual crazies complementing each other.

My rating for Suicide Squad: Cash-Worthy – I wasn’t sure how to feel about this one when I saw the trailers, but it actually surprised me. It took itself a lot less seriously than I was afraid it would, and it ended up being a lot of fun. 🙂 Check this one out if you like DC comics, superheroes, supervillains, and Gotham City in particular.

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: Suicide Squad

  1. disperser says:

    Not sure I will give this a go . . . maybe if it crosses my path in the not-too-distant-but-not-too-close-either future.

    Thanks for the review.

  2. I’m with you. I enjoyed the film but didn’t quite make epic status. I’ve heard rumors that we will see more Jared Leto in other DC Cinematic Universe films, possibly as soon as the upcoming Justice League.

    • paigeaddams says:

      That’s so awesome! 😀 I’d heard there was going to be a Justice League movie, but I haven’t heard much else about what all DC movies they’ll be doing. I can’t wait! 😀

Leave a Reply

