Movie Review: Don’t Breathe

  Hello all, and welcome to my review of Don’t Breathe! 😀

I haven’t seen a horror movie in a while, so I was really looking forward to this one! 😀

  Starring: Jane Levy (Rocky), Dylan Minnette (Alex), Daniel Zovatto (Money), Stephen Lang (The Blind Man)

Plot (taken from IMDb):

“Hoping to walk away with a massive fortune, a trio of thieves break into the house of a blind man who isn’t as helpless as he seems.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Jane Levy (Rocky) – Lol, depending on the scene, I either loved her, or thought she was a massive idiot. She makes some seriously bad decisions, and drags other people into situations they otherwise would not have been in, but I get why she does these things. I really like this actress too.

Dylan Minnette (Alex) – I’ve seen this actor in other movies, and I’m really starting to like him a lot. I think his character is very relatable. His good intentions to help someone he cares about end up landing him in trouble. He’s another one that makes bad decisions, but I completely get why.

Daniel Zovatto (Money) – Lol, man, I loved to hate this guy. He was a real tool bag, but he does manage to do one good thing, where he tells the Blind Man he’s alone. Seeing the motivations of the previous two, it was easy to dismiss this guy as just an idiot with too much time on his hands, and too small of a moral compass.

Stephen Lang (The Blind Man) – Wow… This guy… I’m seriously impressed by this actor. He barely had any dialogue, but he managed to be completely terrifying anyway. I feel like tracking down other movies he’s been in. After living through some serious tragedy, his character has just completely snapped. The things he does, and his motivations for doing them, are just crazy. This is the kind of villain I can truly be scared of in a movie. Also, side note: holy crap, what does this guy eat?! He’s 64, according to a Google search, and he looks amazing! #lifegoals #putdowntheicecreampaige

Review:

Lol, admittedly, I can be merciless when it comes to my opinion on horror. This is one of those genres I get crazy nitpicky with, and I don’t even know why.

It’s like the stars of horror have to align just right for me to really enjoy it, and it almost never happens. And yet, I keep going back for more. 🙂

I think it’s because really good horror movies have a special place in my heart. “Good” is subjective, definitely, and my perspective of “good horror” is extremely narrow – but this one only fell short of the mark by a small margin. 🙂

They built the tension really well throughout the movie, and that was absolutely its strongest point. They didn’t rely on gore and shock value, or even really jumpscares. And the few jumpscares that there were, actually fit.

What made this so scary, was how unexpected everything was. From the way Blind Man moved, to his almost supernatural ability to find them, no matter where they went, I couldn’t look away. I was on the edge of my seat practically the whole time, especially when things got quiet.

There were a few scenes especially, that played on Blind Man’s amazing hearing. The entire theater was silent. No one even rustled a bag of candy during those scenes. It was like everyone really was holding their breath.

This is the horror I love. ❤

Now, I will warn you – there is one scene in particular where I almost threw up all over my pretzel bites.

This is not an over exaggeration.

I almost puked.

This is probably just a me thing.

I have no idea why they couldn’t have implied what Blind Man was about to do. He makes this statement, saying he would never do horrible thing A, but he’s totally cool doing horrible thing B. He explains that certain people deserve it, and owe him this. I get the psycho thought process behind this crazy train, and it does add a different kind of creep factor, but… But

There are other ways this could have been accomplished, which could have raised the creep factor another notch, without making me regret my decision to grab a snack for this movie. There are so many tricks they could have used with camera angles, and a little thing called: subtlety.

Lol, I feel like the art of subtlety is slowly being lost. As we head towards more and more shock factor, and gore, and general gross-out gag reflex triggering scenes, I kind of find myself missing how it felt to not see something.

Sometimes having to imagine what’s happening, just based on a sound, or the look on a character’s face, is far creepier. I feel like having a movie mess with my head, making me really think about what they’re not showing me, has me remembering those scenes much longer than if I just see organs flying all over the place.

My rating for Don’t Breathe: Not Bad – I really loved the way this movie was constantly building the tension. For me personally, however, there are two things that dropped this down from Cash-Worthy. Thing A: A COMPLETELY AVOIDABLE THING HAPPENED, and I was super pissed about it. Thing B: they added in one extra little scene, leaving room for an unnecessary sequel. This left the ending feeling slightly unsatisfying, and makes me worry they’re really going to ruin the whole thing with a part 2. There are a couple things I wish would have gone differently, but over all, this was a really good horror movie. 🙂 Definitely check this one out if you like high tension horror and suspense, that doesn’t rely as much on gore.

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: Don’t Breathe

  1. disperser says:

    We are not fans of horror movies, so it’s not likely that I will watch this. What you describe reminds me of an old movie with Audrey Hepburn (Wait Until Dark), only she is the one being terrorized. Good movie, but also not one I would watch again.

    That said, I do hope he kills them all. They did, after all, break into his house.

    • paigeaddams says:

      I’m going to have to check that one out! I like Audrey Hepburn. 😀

      Lol, and I totally felt that way too! XD He’s military veteran, and blind, and these kids just see him as an easy mark. *ugh* I went into it kind of hoping the “bad guy” would win, lol.

      Even though my feelings on Rocky and Alex changed, and I wanted them to live by the end of it, I was *really* hoping Money would get it the whole time. Lol, I did not like that kid.

      SPOILER: Alex and Money do die – which irked me on Alex’s account, because he was really the only one against doing this robbery. Money though, I was nearly cheering when he got it. Lol, I’m fairly bloodthirsty when I loathe a character. XD

    • disperser says:

      See, that would just piss me off . . . she instigated the whole thing and she survives. I would have all three die, and then we learn there is no fortune and that’s just a rumor the blind guy spreads so as to lure thugs to his house so he can alleviate the burden they place on society.

      • paigeaddams says:

        Lol, I don’t blame you at all. And that would be a much scarier ending! 😀 Just to have him waiting there in the dark for the next bunch of criminals – that would be better than that last scene they tacked on there to make room for a sequel.

Leave a Reply

