Because I’m a massive nerd

  Hello all! I just wanted to give you a heads up on what’s going down for the next several weeks – 8 weeks to be exact.

A super mega massive dose of nerdiness, known as fanfiction! 😀

This is a thing that I mentioned doing last year too, and I’m finally posting it: Dragon Age fan fiction!

This is just for fun, because I’m completely obsessed with BioWare, the creators of the Dragon Age and Mass Effect games. The stories and characters are amazing, and always draw me in. Also, you know that I love all things romance, and they have romance options in their games, lol.

They have a new game, Mass Effect: Andromeda, scheduled to come out in early 2017, and I’m already plotting ways to get out of adulting so I can spend all my free time playing. XD

Lol, unfortunately, I never managed to find an good solution to the e-mail/notification flood issue. This means there will be a couple days where you could see me up to 9 times in your WordPress Reader feed, and in your e-mail. I’m sorry in advance! On the bright side, however, that also means it’ll be a day where you’ll be finding lots of endings. 😀

When I say endings, plural, that’s because I’m going to try and write this in the same way that BioWare games play out, with you able to make choices which change the ending you’ll get. Basically, choose your own adventure! 😀

There are three ending types: Lightside (6 endings), Neutral (5 endings), and Darkside (6 endings). I’m still putting the finishing touches on the final few chapters, so the numbers may change, but that’s my plan right now.

Background Information:

For those who haven’t played the Dragon Age games yet, or if video games aren’t your cup of tea, hopefully it’ll still be fun to read along. 🙂 And for anyone who is familiar with the games, hopefully I won’t butcher the lore too badly, lol. Here’s a little set up for where the story is coming from –

It takes place just before the events of Dragon Age: Inquisition. The mages and templars, magic users and those who are tasked with making sure they don’t abuse their powers, are pretty much at war with each other. Both sides have fallen victim to some corruption over the years, whether it’s mages making deals with demons and using blood magic, or templars treating all mages like criminals across the board, and making them tranquil (taking their emotions and magic away, basically turning them into puppets). Not all mages are bad, and not all templars are bad, but everyone is fed up with the way things have been up to this point.

The story will be wrapping up around the time of the incident at the Conclave, where the mages and templars were meeting with the Divine, their religious leader, to try and negotiate some kind of peace. Everyone, except the Inquisitor (main character of Inquisition), dies in some kind of attack. At first, nobody knows what happened for sure, but they know that a hole has been torn in the sky – The Breach. This is a giant portal that lets demons escape into the world. Smaller versions, called rifts, are cropping up all over the world, and the Inquisition is the only hope of stopping them, and the one controlling them.

I’m going to be putting up a kind of master post, where you can find a full chapter list with links. Each chapter will have a title too. Hopefully this will make it easier to find where you left off.

Every chapter will also have this disclaimer at the bottom:

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, lore, etc. are the property of BioWare, and their respective writers. The only things that are mine are the original characters and plot of this story – DA FF: Blades. I am in no way associated with BioWare. No copyright infringement is intended. This is for entertainment purposes only.

I sent BioWare a message on Facebook, asking to see if they allow fan fiction, but figured they may never see it, lol. They probably get hundreds of messages a day. I’ve seen a ton of BioWare fan fiction all over the internet though, and they even ran a fan fiction contest at one point, so I’m assuming it’s fine. Maybe. Hopefully. Lol, please don’t sue me.

I’m honestly not trying to step on any toes – this is all just for fun, a little detour while I’m getting things set up for having my first book edited, and because (have I mentioned) I love BioWare… And also, I’m a nerd…

This is also a really good chance to stretch my writing wings a little. What I normally write always has happy endings, but this has a lot of bad ones, and in varying degrees of bad. Lol, this should be interesting. XD

Until next time, Happy Writing! 😀

~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

