DA FF: Blades (4f: Change of Heart)

I don’t know what that relic is, but I don’t like how much power it’s given Karinn. I’ve seen the way her red pendant alone has enhanced her powers. Allowing her to keep the relic, and grow even stronger, would be a mistake.

My eyes lock on the pendant, and it’s hard to look away. There’s something alluring about it.

I bet it would be more useful to the Silent Blades.

More useful to me.

The thought comes unbidden, but I somehow know it’s true. I should take the pendant and relic for myself.

I step forward a little, signaling the others. I know Sylas won’t be happy about what I’m planning, but I’ll deal with that later.

“I don’t like that option as much,” I say with a grim smile, drawing my swords.

 

Darkside Ending 2

Sylas and I unsheathe our swords, and Caleb swiftly trains an arrow on Karinn. We circle around her slowly, watching for her to move, until she’s surrounded.

It’s unsettling how unconcerned she seems with being outnumbered, holding her staff nonchalantly. Her smile is cold. Confident, even in this situation. And it gives me pause.

Something is very wrong.

She laughs then, and my skin crawls. A red glow begins to surround her, the room going a little hazy.

“This power truly is amazing,” she says, more to herself than us. She tilts her head, and her next words leave me frozen. “You really do believe you’re awake now, don’t you?”

A horrible realization comes crashing down on me, and I meet Sylas’ worried gaze.

She’s using the dreamer’s power right now, and none of us even realized it.

“Shit!” I hear Caleb mutter, and he fires his arrow.

Sylas and I attack, coming at her from different angles. She laughs, sweeping her staff out, and there’s a bright flash of red light. In an instant, I’m knocked off my feet, and I lose sight of the others, but I can hear their shouts of pain.

It’s over too quickly. Pain wracks my body from head to toe, and I find myself staring at the ceiling. I taste blood, and a horrible, gut-wrenching fire burns through my middle.

“Nnnnngh!” Gritting my teeth, I bring shaking hands to my abdomen, and find something hard and jagged where my stomach should be. I barely have the strength to move my head, but when I manage to look, all I see is this sharp red crystal that has pinned me to the floor.

Beside me, I hear Sylas give a choking kind of cough, and then silence. Across the room, Caleb is pinned to the wall with the same red projectile sticking out of his chest.

I faintly hear a rustle of fabric, dots dancing in front of my eyes. The pain is spreading into a horrible numbness. I can barely breathe.

Karinn’s smiling face swims in my vision as she leans over to peer down at me, the room fading to black all around, and then…

 

~~~~~~~~~~

For easy navigation, and do-overs.😀 ~ DA FF: Blades (Chapter Master Post)

~~~~~~~~~~

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, lore, etc. are the property of BioWare, and their respective writers. The only things that are mine are the original characters and plot of this story – DA FF: Blades. I am in no way associated with BioWare. No copyright infringement is intended. This is for entertainment purposes only.

~~~~~~~~~~

2 thoughts on “DA FF: Blades (4f: Change of Heart)

  1. disperser says:

    One should pay for one’s mistakes.

    I linked the Evil Overlord Rules before, and I have been often tempted to write the Good Guys Modified Code of Conduct.

    1) Never, never, never let a bad guy slide; they will only come back to hurt you or your family or your friends. They should have killed her before.
    2) screw this macho confrontation bit. An arrow — or three — shot from concealment would do the job with little risk to oneself and friends.
    3) always assume the evil person has read their rules and plan accordingly.

    • paigeaddams says:

      Lol, this was another painful one to write – but at least here Ilara wasn’t evil.

      And I love the rules! XD I think if Ilara had read those, and stuck to them, she wouldn’t be here.

Leave a Reply

