Movie Review: Snowden

  Hello all, and welcome to my review of Snowden! 😀

  Starring: Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Edward Snowden), Shailene Woodley (Lindsay Mills), Melissa Leo (Laura Poitras), Zachary Quinto (Glenn Greenwald), Tom Wilkinson (Ewen Macaskill), Rhys Ifans (Corbin O’Brian), Nicolas Cage (Hank Forrester)

Plot (taken from IMDb):

“The NSA’s illegal surveillance techniques are leaked to the public by one of the agency’s employees, Edward Snowden, in the form of thousands of classified documents distributed to the press.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Edward Snowden) – An interesting and complicated character. Lol, I don’t know how close he is to his real life counterpart, however.

Shailene Woodley (Lindsay Mills) – I love this actress! She did a very good job here. Sometimes I thought she was adorable, and other times I was slightly annoyed by her.

Melissa Leo (Laura Poitras) – Reporter #1 on the receiving end of the classified info.

Zachary Quinto (Glenn Greenwald) – I love this actor too! Reporter #2 on the receiving end of the classified info.

Tom Wilkinson (Ewen Macaskill) – Reporter #3 on the receiving end of the classified info.

Rhys Ifans (Corbin O’Brian) – Snowden’s boss, more or less? Every time he showed up, he acted super shady and secretive.

Nicolas Cage (Hank Forrester) – he’s not in much of the movie, but the character seems to serve as inspiration for Snowden.

Review:

To be fair, this is not usually my type of movie. Don’t get me wrong, the previews looked interesting, but I mainly saw this because the husband wanted to see it. Lol, I tend to like my movies with a heavy dose of escapism.

Reality has really proven itself to suck in major ways sometimes.

Not only is this movie based on true events, it’s also political.

Me and reality are not besties. We tolerate each other’s presence when necessary, and stay far away from each other the rest of the time.

Reality:

What I choose to focus on:

With all that whining being said, this wasn’t a horrible movie. Lol, it wasn’t fantastic, but it wasn’t horrible.

The pace was a little slow at times, but it did make you think about the subject matter.

Where do you put the line between our privacy vs our security? Would you be willing to let some stranger rifle through your personal business, if you knew it meant it could possibly prevent another tragedy like 9/11?

When does it become abuse of power? When they look at your stuff? Or your mom’s? Or your best friend’s? And who puts on the brakes, if nobody, except those directly involved, know it’s happening? How long until this system is corrupted?

It was both interesting and unnerving to see how far they could, and would, look into things.

But I can see where both sides were coming from. I definitely wouldn’t call him a hero, but I don’t think he’s really completely evil either.

Snowden’s relationship with Lindsay was very sweet. They had their ups and downs, like anyone else. I think there were a couple times where I got annoyed at one or both of them, for various reasons – but this was based on reality, where relationships aren’t happiness and rainbows 24/7.

*shakes fist at reality*

I still really liked the connection between Lindsay and Snowden.

My rating for Snowden: Meh – This was a fairly good movie, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea, lol. It was interesting, and made me think. Both good things. Lol, but like i said, not my thing. Not enough martial arts scenes and people sporting heroic brand spandex. XD Check this one out if you like movies based on true stories, especially political type stories.

~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Snowden

  1. disperser says:

    Not my cup of tea either. We will likely go see Magnificent 7 on Wednesday as we wait for Jack Reacher to hit the screen on the 21.

    By the way, this has a Snowden interview in it:

    • paigeaddams says:

      Lol, I’m still mentally preparing myself to cry through the last half of Magnificent 7, but I’m planning on seeing it sometime this week too. XD And I can’t wait for Jack Reacher! 😀

      And when the congress woman talking about section 215 in the clip you shared was interrupted for a Justin Bieber court case, I nearly died. XD “Breaking news?” Wow. One must have their priorities, I guess, lol.

Leave a Reply

