DA FF: Blades (5f: A Blade for Hire)

“Fine,” I say, keeping my expression composed. “We can work together again.”

“Ilara, don’t do this,” Sylas says, grabbing my arm. The grip he has on me is almost painful, but it’s nothing compared to the way he’s looking at me. Like he doesn’t even know who I am anymore. “What about making things right again? What about getting justice for everything he’s done?”

“Wow.” For once, Caleb is beyond words. He stares at me like I’m crazy too.

“There’s no point,” I say grimly, and I hope Sylas will understand eventually. “I’m tired of this uphill battle. It’s time to start looking out for myself for once.”

“I knew you would see reason, eventually,” Jeremiah says, giving me an approving grin.

That’s right, just keep smiling… I think to myself, and return his smile.

 

Darkside Ending 4

Denerim, Silent Blades hideout

A few months later

 

I lean back in my new chair, propping my feet up on what used to be Jeremiah’s desk. Crossing my ankles, I study the red lyrium blade I’m holding, marveling that such a simple thing is the relic everyone had been fussing over.

It’s strangely beautiful, the way it shines in the light. It almost feels warm to the touch. Alive. Even the way it whispers to me, more and more lately, entices me. The way it got into my head, much like the pendant I crushed, used to worry me.

Not anymore.

This is power. I can have anything I want with this. No more scraping by, subject to anyone’s whims but my own. For the first time in a very long time, everything seems to be working in my favor.

The Silent Blades are mine now, and follow my orders to the letter. They know better than to cross me.

All that’s really missing is Sylas.

I can’t stand to watch you fall into Jeremiah’s grasp again. Not after all he’s done. Not with what I know he wants to turn you into. You will always be family to me, but this is one path I can’t walk with you. Dareth shiral, da’len.

I knew it was coming, but finding that letter in my room the morning after we reached Denerim had been painful. I still regret that he isn’t with me now, but I know it has to be this way. If I’m going to fall, I don’t want to drag him down with me.

I can’t help the cold grin that curves my lips, however, wondering what Sylas would think of how this all turned out. Would he have known what I was up to when I replaced the delicate gold chain that held Jeremiah’s pendant with a nice, sturdy, woven cord?

I’m not sure if I’m just a great actress, or if Jeremiah’s own ego lulled him into complacency.

It was too simple to slip into his room one night. Even easier to seduce him, and share his bed. Regardless of how much power he had received from the relic, he was vulnerable and useless in his sleep. It had been nothing to bind his hands to the headboard, climb on top of him, and lovingly slip the pendant around his neck.

My only real satisfaction for the evening had been strangling him to death with the cord of that beautiful pendant.

But the past is the past. Caleb remains loyal to me. A trusted ally as I lead the Silent Blades into a more lucrative purpose.

I may not be a mage, but I’ve learned there are still many ways I can use the relic.

Mages, Templars, or the Inquisition? It doesn’t really matter in the end, as long as we get paid.

 

~~~~~~~~~~

For easy navigation, and do-overs.😀 ~ DA FF: Blades (Chapter Master Post)

~~~~~~~~~~

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, lore, etc. are the property of BioWare, and their respective writers. The only things that are mine are the original characters and plot of this story – DA FF: Blades. I am in no way associated with BioWare. No copyright infringement is intended. This is for entertainment purposes only.

~~~~~~~~~~

2 thoughts on “DA FF: Blades (5f: A Blade for Hire)

  1. disperser says:

    Eh, like every modern politician if you replace “relic” with “public office.”

    • paigeaddams says:

      Lol, she goes completely evil here. XD I didn’t like writing this ending either, but it was interesting. It’s rare that I write something from the evil perspective. 🙂

Leave a Reply

