Movie Review: The Accountant

  Hello all, and welcome to my review of The Accountant! 😀

*cough, cough* …Lol, on a day that is not Monday… XD

  Starring: Ben Affleck (Christian Wolff), Anna Kendrick (Dana Cummings), J.K. Simmons (Ray King), Jon Bernthal (Brax), Cynthia Addai-Robinson (Marybeth Medina), John Lithgow (Lamar Black), Jeffrey Tambor (Francis Silverberg)

Plot (taken from IMDb):

“As a math savant uncooks the books for a new client, the Treasury Department closes in on his activities and the body count starts to rise.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Ben Affleck (Christian Wolff) – I am greatly impressed with this character. He’s complicated, a total badass, and still manages to have some more lighthearted funny moments with Dana. I love that he has a kind of code that he lives by. Ben Affleck did an amazing job!

Anna Kendrick (Dana Cummings) – This character was just adorable. She’s the one unexpected aspect of Christian’s latest job that he has no idea what to do with. She changes Christian a little, and I love how they interact with each other.

J.K. Simmons (Ray King) – I love this actor. His character allows some shady things to go down, comforted by the fact that some of the shady things happening are generally happening to bad guys at least. Christian also makes it worth his while in an interesting way.

Jon Bernthal (Brax) – At first, I absolutely loathed this character, but he does a really startling 180 at the end of the movie, and then I didn’t know what to think, lol. I’m not sure I can ignore all the things he did leading up to the end, but he did add an interesting layer to the story, and to Christian’s character as well.

Cynthia Addai-Robinson (Marybeth Medina) – She means well, and is determined to do the right thing, but finds herself facing the same dilemma with Christian and Ray. I like how tough she is, and how she really thinks through the situation before making her final decision.

John Lithgow (Lamar Black) – Lol, I love to hate this character. He’s sleazy and only cares about himself, and doesn’t lose any sleep over the shady things he has to do to protect his position.

Jeffrey Tambor (Francis Silverberg) – This character is a kind of mentor/father figure to Christian, and also the catalyst for some serious badassery at one point in the movie, lol.

Review:

This movie has been out for a bit, but I was so surprised by how much I ended up liking it, that I thought I should still do a review. I feel like this movie was a little overlooked and overshadowed by Jack Reacher: Never Go Back, which came out around the same time.

I saw both movies back to back with my husband, and I am shocked to report that this was actually the better movie. Neither were bad, but this one was especially awesome! 😀

On the one hand, Christian’s a very solitary character. His autism makes it hard for him to get closer to others, even when he wants to. He has habits and rituals that he needs in order to keep calm, and once he’s started something he absolutely has to finish it.

There’s a series of flashbacks in the movie which give you an idea of how he got to where he is. They show his parents and a doctor trying to figure out what’s best for him as a kid, and eventually his father teaching him how to defend himself.

Side note: I loathe his mother. -.- Not a fan. And sometimes his father is schmuck too. *sigh*

Anywho, Christian flourishes in his orderly lifestyle, and he seems happy as long as he has numbers to work on.

On the other hand, he ‘s a complete badass. Seriously.

He’s so precise in his fighting style, like the way he is with numbers. It’s honestly a lot of fun to watch. Kudos to the fight choreographer. 😀

He deals with some seriously shady people in his line of work, but his personal code keeps him from going all darkside himself. There are times where he even goes out of his way to avoid letting innocent bystanders get hurt.

He makes for a very interesting antihero type of character, especially considering his connection to Ray and the way he interacts with his regular, non-shady clients at his day job.

His interactions with Dana were completely adorable! ❤ Silly and kind of awkward in an endearing way. I loved all their scenes together.

Christian didn’t account for Dana in his planning, and she ends up throwing a lot of things off for him, completely by accident. He just can’t bring himself to turn his back on her.

My rating for The Accountant: Epic – I was pleasantly surprised by how good this movie was. Watching it alongside Jack Reacher: Never Go Back kind of accidentally pitted the two films against each other in my mind, since they were both the same genre. The Accountant easily won, hands down. Even though it was primarily an action movie, it also had a really good balance of humor and a little bit of romance even. I honestly loved this one, and will be buying it when it comes out. Check it out if you like movies like Knight and Day and Red, or enjoy action movies in general.

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

One thought on “Movie Review: The Accountant

  1. disperser says:

    Oh, man . . . you’re killing me here. I’ve not seen either movie, but my desire to see Ben Affleck in anything is pretty close to zero.

    The movie is no longer in theaters but I suppose I’ll have to check this out when it’s available somewhere for free. Reacher, too, although I did not have high expectation for it.

    I was planning to go see Assassin’s Creed but I happened to see a few comments on it and that too will likely wait for it to show up for free somewhere.

    Anyway, thanks.

Leave a Reply

