Movie Review: Resident Evil – The Final Chapter

  Hello all, and welcome to my review of Resident Evil: The Final Chapter! 😀

*sigh*

I miss the old soundtracks for these movies. They used to have a mix of instrumentals and songs from different bands. It’s still pretty good though. 🙂

  Starring: Milla Jovovich (Alice), Iain Glen (Dr. Isaacs), Ali Larter (Claire Redfield), Shawn Roberts (Wesker), Eoin Macken (Doc), Fraser James (Razor), Ruby Rose (Abigail), William Levy (Christian), Rola (Cobalt), Ever Anderson (The Red Queen), Joon-Gi Lee (Commander Chu)

Plot (taken from IMDb):

“Alice returns to where the nightmare began: The Hive in Raccoon City, where the Umbrella Corporation is gathering its forces for a final strike against the only remaining survivors of the apocalypse.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Milla Jovovich (Alice) – I’ve always loved this character because she’s one of those badass heroines who does her own thing and stands up for what she believes in, no matter the odds against her. She has a special place in my heart, somewhere in the vicinity of Ellen Ripley and Sarah Connor. Also, I love Milla Jovovich! 😀

Iain Glen (Dr. Isaacs) – Lol, this guy creeps me out. He’s so bent on re-building the world the way he thinks it should be, he doesn’t care what horrible things he has to do to get there. For him, the ends justify the means, and the ends he wants has the distinct feel of an apocalypse cult.

Ali Larter (Claire Redfield) – I like this character too, because she’s another strong heroine. Lol, I’m glad she made it to this movie.

Shawn Roberts (Wesker) – Lol, this guy creeps me out too, but in a different way than Dr. Isaacs. Don’t get me wrong, he’s still a good villain, but this character represents some of the silliness I’ll mention in the review, which crept into some of the movies before. For some reason, he gives me a serious Agent Smith (Matrix) vibe.

Eoin Macken (Doc) – Claire’s boyfriend. He’s the one leading the survivors in Raccoon City.

Fraser James (Razor) – I didn’t get to learn too much about this character unfortunately. In the scenes he was in, I liked him.

Ruby Rose (Abigail) – I wish she’d had more screen time! I wanted to know more about her character. They give you a little of her backstory, but I was hoping I’d learn more.

William Levy (Christian) – Lol, a total hot-head, but I somehow liked him.

Rola (Cobalt) – I didn’t get to learn much about this character either unfortunately. She doesn’t have many scenes.

Ever Anderson (The Red Queen) – This is an interesting character. You learn much more about her in this one movie than you did in any of the others combined.

Joon-Gi Lee (Commander Chu) – A really good minor villain. Lol, he’s not in many scenes, but he manages to be really frightening in those few scenes. He’s a kind of quiet bad guy, which makes him more intimidating somehow. I kind of wish he’d had more screen time. Also, I love the fights with him. 🙂

Review:

This is absolutely a movie for fans, lol. Where it picks up may be a little confusing if you didn’t watch the movies before.

It jumps into the action right away though, which is awesome. Bring on the fights and explosions! 😀

I feel like they wrapped everything up really well with this movie. All of the things they left hanging from previous movies were addressed, and it all really comes together nicely. Nothing felt unanswered, and I was happy with how they ended it.

Bringing it back around to The Hive was awesome, and had some cool nostalgic type moments that made me think of the first movie. I also liked what they did with The Red Queen here.

There were a couple things that were a little illogical, but Milla Jovovich + explosions = I don’t care about a few leaps in logic. XD

In the movies before this one, mainly Afterlife and Retribution, there were a couple scenes that were silly. It might be that they were trying to get the movies too close to the video games? I felt like this time around they escaped that trap though.

I think my only real complaint is the action scenes.

I know, right? Since when do I *EVER* complain about action scenes?

Right now.

Now is when.

I’m afraid that if someone has epilepsy, they will have a seizure watching the action scenes. Some of them are so cut up and patched together, all shaky and with flashing lights, that I completely lost track of who was punching who half the time. I think they were trying to portray that the characters were moving faster than a normal human could, but I honestly just got confused by it.

Don’t get me wrong, there were some good action scenes in there, but a few made me actually want to look away from the screen to rest my eyes.

I need to go back and watch the movies before this one again, because I don’t feel like they were like that with the action scenes. I may be remembering wrong, but I don’t remember them being so jarring before.

 

My rating for Resident Evil – The Final Chapter: Cash-Worthy – This is definitely a movie for the fans. Nothing wrong with that at all, but you might want to check out the other movies in the series before watching this one. Even though they do open with some explanation of how things got where they are, it would still be easy to get a little lost otherwise. Over all, I really liked this one, and it was a good ending to a fun series of movies. 😀 Definitely check this one out if you like movies like World War Z or the other Resident Evil movies, or movies about zombies and the apocalypse in general.

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Resident Evil – The Final Chapter

  1. disperser says:

    I like the series, but the progression of the movies just got weirder.

    Still, I will likely watch this if it gets offered on Netflix or Amazon.

    • paigeaddams says:

      Lol, agreed – unfortunately the transition from video game to movie is not always done well. Some scenes that make sense in video games can come off as plain weird in movies. XD

      I did love this series of movies though, and think they wrapped it all up well – let me know what you think if you see the last one! 😀

    • disperser says:

      I will, although I’ve not seen the previous movie offered up on Prime or Netflix, so I don’t know if the latest will cross my path.

Leave a Reply

