Movie Review: Logan

  Hello all!

Welcome to my 2’nd of 3 reviews – my mid-level crying review – also known as my review of Logan! 😀

  Starring: Hugh Jackman (Logan), Patrick Stewart (Charles), Dafne Keen (Laura), Stephen Merchant (Caliban), Boyd Holbrook (Pierce), Richard E. Grant (Dr. Rice)

Plot (taken from IMDb):

“In the near future, a weary Logan cares for an ailing Professor X somewhere on the Mexican border. However, Logan’s attempts to hide from the world and his legacy are upended when a young mutant arrives, pursued by dark forces.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Hugh Jackman (Logan) – I love this actor and this character. I pretty much love anything Hugh Jackman decides to do. Except Chappie. I like to pretend that never happened. This character is complicated and kind of an anti-hero. I have a soft spot for anti-heroes, lol. I dig dark and broody. Even though he can come off as cold, I absolutely love this character. It’s clear he cares in spite of himself. Also, he’s a total badass, even injured and in pain.

Patrick Stewart (Charles) – I also love this actor, and generally anything he decides to do. His character is awesome, and just as complicated as Logan in his own way. He has his own demons to fight, but is always challenging Logan to let people in. Even though they bicker throughout the movie, it’s clear they love each other as though they were family.

Dafne Keen (Laura) – This kid is amazing! I really hope she plays this role again in any future X-men movies. Not having read the comics, my father-in-law had to fill me in on who her character is. I’m looking forward to seeing what they do with this character.

Stephen Merchant (Caliban) – Logan asked him to help take care of Charles. Lol, I’m assuming they’ve become sort of friends over time. I’m not as familiar with this character unfortunately, but I did like him.

Boyd Holbrook (Pierce) – Lol, Marvel does villains well. This guy is so arrogant and nasty, I absolutely love to hate him.

Richard E. Grant (Dr. Rice) – I like this actor, and he plays another excellent villain who I love to hate.

Review:

Man, I loved this movie, but there were several moments that left me tearing up. Seeing Charles and Logan both suffering from illness and pain, and Charles being so frail and helpless, nearly killed me.

Lol, this is one of those times where my ability to lose myself in a story and care about the characters really bites me in the ass. I get too into it, I take it way too seriously, and then I get sad, and then I buy all the chocolate cake I can lay my hands on.

This felt like a slightly darker turn in the franchise – which is not necessarily a bad thing. The fight scenes were bloodier and more merciless, and the story itself was a little darker I think.

At this point, things are really tough for Charles and Logan. New mutants aren’t being born, and I’m assuming most, if not all, of the other mutants I’ve become familiar with throughout this series of movies have all died somehow. Logan is desperately trying to find a way to take care of Charles, and has asked Caliban for help. They’re barely scraping by, and trying to stay under the radar.

As much as Logan likes to pretend he doesn’t give a crap about anyone or anything, he really does. I like how the movie shows this complicated side of him in different ways. Whether it’s with Laura, Caliban, or even Charles, he’s constantly trying to push people away and keep an emotional distance.

He’s a lot more human than I think he’d like to admit though, and it shows in how protective he is of Charles, and even of Laura later on.

Lol, he wants NOTHING to do with Laura when she first shows up. She’s trouble and brings attention he doesn’t need, especially with Charles so sick and his own bad health.

Laura is freaking amazing though! 😀 And luckily Charles thinks so too, and refuses to let Logan ignore her.

I love this kid, and I hope I see this character in about 10 more movies. ❤

She’s kind of complicated herself. I won’t get into her backstory because I don’t want to spoil anything, but her fight scenes, especially the ones she does beside Logan, are epic!

I’m kind of bummed about how the movie ended. You know me – I like my butterflies and happiness and daisies – but I get why they did what they did. It felt like they were passing the torch to the next generation of X-men, but in order to get there they really had to bring on the pain.

Hence, the crying like a damn baby in the back of the theater. 😥

My rating for Logan: Epic – I loved this movie, even though it was extremely sad in some places. Lol, this movie has the feels. And even if I weren’t already naturally biased towards loving the characters (I’m an X-men fan anyway), they did a great job of giving the characters depth, and making me care even more. They’ve left a lot of room for more X-men movies too, and I’m dying to see more with Laura. 🙂 Definitely check this one out if you like X-men and action movies in general with kickass super kids completely annihilating bad guys, lol. 😀

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~

12 thoughts on “Movie Review: Logan

  1. disperser says:

    This is one of those I will want to see. I didn’t go to the theater because Melisa was not interested in it, but I’m looking forward to it once it’s released to video.

    You might enjoy this take on the movie. It’s from a different point of view.

    https://blairmacgregorbooks.com/2017/03/04/logan-the-movie-i-saw-might-have-been-different/

    • paigeaddams says:

      Man, totally agree with this! Thank you for sharing! 😀

      That was a really big part of the crying for me – the caregiving part of it all. I’ve been a caregiver – my experiences have been different, in that I’m not the sole caregiver – but some of the scenes in the movie really were a kick in the gut, as Blair says.

      I also really like how Blair talks about Logan’s own particular way of showing love. That was a really great way to put it.

      I think you’ll like this one – I can’t wait to hear what you think of it! 😀

    • disperser says:

      As soon as it’s out, I’ll take a look at it.

  2. Thanks Paige I want to see this so great to have the recommendation.

  3. Yes, also I have to totally agree! just watched it yesterday, I love Wolverine stories largely because of Hugh Jackman playing this character so well! 🙂 I wept through all the movie and can’t help to love it too! Excellent review! xx

  4. colonialist says:

    Seems great, but I am rather addicted to Happily Ever After endings, so …

    • paigeaddams says:

      Lol, I’m totally with you there! I’m all about the Happily Ever After! 😀

      I don’t want to say this movie had a “bad” ending – more of a bittersweet kind of “good.” I get why they went that route, but I much prefer “good” over “bittersweet good.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

